Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Banshee

Tuesday, Nov. 20, 2007
10:08 p.m.
As I mentioned yesterday, my mother called because she has shrunk so much, she has very little in her closet that fits her anymore. She wanted me to come to visit her for a few days and take her shopping, but I have now talked her into coming with Buddy Boy on the train when he comes home after classes are finished. He had lunch with her today, and we were just instant messaging and it went something like this:
Elgan says: How was lunch with your grandmother?

Buddy Boy says: It was fun. I had a good time and we had a great walk together. Perfect walking weather.

E says: Did she mention the idea I had, that you and she travel together when you come home on the 4th?

BB says: Yeah. Sounds like it’ll work out.

E says: That’s cool.

BB says: You know what kinda sucked? I wanted to play cribbage and she’s totally forgotten how. She’s telling me that we’ve never played this game before. She thinks it’s some sort of dice game.

E says: Oh no. That really sucks. I’m so sorry.

BB says: I tried teaching it to her, but to no avail. She was dead sure that we had never played this game.

E says: You know, I remember this happening with Kay K. Do you remember her at all?

BB says: Not really, no.

E says: Well, she was this old lady in L’ville, a water colourist, and she really liked you. Do you remember that set of boats you used to play with in the bathtub as a kid?

BB says: Yeah. She gave em to me?

E says: She gave them to you for Christmas one year.

BB says: Nice.

E says: But we saw her the week before she died that day we were at the E’s and we went over to the neighbours’; they had a horse behind an electrified enclosure. I don’t know if you remember.

BB says: That was a long time ago

E says: And Kay was there, and she told me that she had never met my children before. And it was kind of terrifying. Because she was extremely fond of you guys. And then she died the next week.

BB says: Well, apart from the cribbage thing, everything else was good.

E says: That’s good.


Life sucks.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>