Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sunday, sunday!

Sunday, Nov. 20, 2005
6:41 p.m.
I�m sitting here, palms resting against the desk, fingers poised on the homerow, staring at the white box, and I have absolutely nothing to type into it. Nada. Zilch. Sure I did stuff today, but nothing seems important enough to record. Oh, the flannelette sheets were lovely though. I had a long bubble bath and started reading a new book, one that my friend zitagsd sent me ages ago, All He Ever Wanted by Anita Shreve. The first chapter is very promising, and I love her prose. I wish I wrote like that. I think eggsaucted was raving about another book by the same author a while back. We will have to compare notes.

I did some Latin homework, verb synopses, and then took Little Princess with me to choir practice where we sang our way through the second half of the upcoming concert. It went reasonably well. I find that certain people who shall remain nameless because I don�t know their names like to scoop. This happens during the Negro spirituals (is that still politically correct?) and when Fannie is not accompanying us (as she is not in those particular pieces) the pitch starts to fall because the problem with scooping is that the scoopers never quite reach their target pitch, and this brings everyone down. I brought it to the attention of the conductor, who then told everyone not to do it, but the practice continued, worst of all by the soprano on my right (whose name I do not know). Ah well.

The parents of our interim director, retired townies I have known since we first moved here, provided juice and pastries during break, which was incredibly sweet of them. The pastries were incredibly sweet too, shortbread bases with a creamy lemon topping, heavenly.

Anyway, there�s nothing to talk about. I�m stymied. Someone suggest a topic, quick!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>