Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

No more choir till the fall!

Monday, May 21, 2007
12:08 a.m.
I wanted so hard to post this before midnight, but that didn’t happen, did it? Well, I suppose I could always cheat, but I’m not like that.

We, meaning one-fifth of the choir, performed at the fund raiser in C00kshire tonight. It went very well. We received a standing ovation. We were wonderful.

Afterwards, my brother, Little Princess and I went over to the Duke and Duchess’ house as she and my sibling are friends and she drove him (I took my daughter and drove her boyfriend home). We had sherry (the Duchess and I had sherry, the men had herbal tea) and talked in a civilized fashion and it was a very pleasant way to top off the evening. I haven’t been in that house in ages. I still don’t know if I feel entirely welcome there.

Then it occurred to me that it’s not the Duchess who has been my problem all these years, but the Duke, who, because of his position at the university, has been privy to all the nastiness (and actually has been responsible for much of it). For instance, right now I have this problem because of that exchange student who was assigned to the other teacher. Part of that was his decision. So, I still don’t feel like he is really my friend. But his wife is. It’s just kind of uncomfortable.

Anyway, it was still a lovey evening.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>