Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Wild goose chase

Tuesday, Mar. 20, 2007
11:11 p.m.
Today much time was wasted on a wild goose chase to find a particular hand cleaning product (which is also great on faces) that seems to have disappeared from store shelves around here. I cannot find it online either, which is very frustrating, although I was able to locate the phone number of the manufacturer, which I called, leaving a message and getting one in return that this particular product is available in my province in WaI*mart stores.

Now I hate WaI*mart, I boycott it on principle, and it was only under duress and a deep-seated desire to find this particular cleanser that I even went out there this morning, braving blustery winds, frigid temperatures and not optimal driving conditions. It is located off the highway, quite a ways from where I live, takes a fair bit of gas to get out there, as well as time, but I made the trip, only to come away more or less empty handed because the product I desired so badly was not there. It wasn’t with the cosmetics, or the pharmaceuticals, the regular soaps, the household cleaning supplies or the automotive cleansers. I was not amused.

Not only did I not find what I was looking for, I got lost coming out of the parking lot, heading on the wrong highway in the wrong direction, losing more time and wasting more gas, and I had to pee. When I finally got to where I was intending to go, C0stc0, I spent over $200, but still didn’t get my hand cleaner.

Hubby is off to San Antonio tomorrow for five days of guest composer stuff, so I have to rise bright and early to take him to the bus station. Toodles.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>