Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

This little piggy went to belly dancing�

Monday, Mar. 20, 2006
7:58 p.m.
So, where was I? Right, more recitals. Yesterday afternoon two third-year students gave half-recitals, a pianist who did not screw up and whose teacher admitted that she did as well or better than expected, and a flutist who has already given many public performances and did a very nice job. She wore an absolutely gorgeous gold, strapless, satin gown which was a wee bit over the top for an afternoon recital, but she looked like a million bucks in it. She�s tall and slim and beautiful anyway. She could go far on her talent and looks.

I�m getting a little tired of recitals. This is what happens at this time of year in a music department. There are also more professional concerts in our series, and one ensemble is coming as artists-in-residence on Wednesday, and they�re all staying with us. The pianist and violinist are also bringing their 8-year-old son. Argh! It�s a good thing we have a big house.

I got A- on my Latin midterm exam, which I suppose is all right. There sure were an awful lot of red marks on my paper. I don�t see how I could possibly have got that high. We�re almost finished translating the Narcissus story, and we�ll soon get to work on Orpheus and Euridice. This is hard work. I�m supposed to be good at languages, but I think my brain is getting tired.

In belly dancing tonight I hurt my toe somehow. Suddenly I had a sharp pain in my left big toe as though there was a splinter in it, but upon close inspection there was nothing out of the ordinary. However, every time I put my weight on it in a certain position, pointed usually, it would be excruciating. So I left early.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>