Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

When sparks refuse to fly.

Tuesday, Jun. 20, 2006
7:07 p.m.
My widget predicted rain again today. My widget did not lie. The rain started to fall as I was ferrying Buddy Boy around on various errands, laundry still flapping happily on my line which I had seriously considered taking in before we left but had neglected to for I don't know what reason. Fortunately, it was not a heavy rain and I was able to bring in the still-dry clothes. Phew!

However, as I sat in the dentist's waiting room while Hubby had the third installment of his root canal performed, I chanced to look out the receptionist's window and noticed that it was absolutely teeming. I had just been walking around outside earlier that hour, taking advantange of the beautiful town of N0rth HatIey and it's shops. I first bought myself a soft ice cream cone (an indulgence I had been promising myself for making the trip in the first place) and then wandered across the street to LeBar0n's grocery store where I first did a tour of their upstairs where they sell neat kitchen gadgets and other interesting wares, then settled on a set of three tiny measuring spoons labeled: smidgeon, pinch and dash, and a bottle of hibiscus flower flavoured vinegar (which was so expensive that I can't believe I actually went for it).

Back in the waiting room, with approximately a half-hour still to go, I read (The GirI Wh0 Tr0d on a L0af recommended by harri3tspy and which I purchased a very long time ago and have finally gotten into) until I came to the end of a section, put my bookmark in place, and started looking through the out-of-date periodicals on the coffee table when the power went out. The whine of the dentist's drill continued unabated, as it is battery powered, but the receptionist was suddenly left with a blank computer screen. It was too dark by then to read, so I waited patiently until Hubby came out, jaw sore even this time, and arranged with her to call him tomorrow for an appointment to have an x-ray, since the dentist was unable to do this before he left. We certainly suffer a lot of power outages here in Quebec, where we produce enough electricity to supply much of the U.S. eastern seaboard. Is there not something wrong with this picture?

|

<~~~ * ~~~>