Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

St. John’s

Sunday, Jul. 20, 2008
11:49 p.m.
Because I was away way too long, and because I took way too many photos, and because I have more to say than can possibly fit in one entry, I’m breaking my trip down into manageable chunks. ’Saright?

Sunday, July 6 -- The last time we met, I think I told you I was going to be spending seven hours in the HaIifax airport. I did not lie. At least, it felt longer, but we were able to check our bags right off so we didn’t have to schlep them around the terminal with us. It’s not a large airport, as airports generally go, and it has its fair share of kitsch art festooning the halls.

DSC03387

We spent a lot of time in the airport pub as they had a couple of television sets airing the WimbeId0n men’s finals. My husband was content to drink beer and watch tennis. I took several walks around the departure lounges, purchasing a couple of bars of dark chocolate (which turned out later to be a very good thing), made a phone call to my mother, and admired the Eurasian tree sparrows who have made their residence in the terminal.

DSC03388

We were picked up in St. John’s by our dear friend Tom who took us back to his place where we had a late supper with him and Mary: potato salad, cucumbers in yogurt and camembert on crackers. I love these people. I really do.

Monday, July 7 -- The next morning we were up early, experiencing jet lag no doubt (wait, that’s not right, Newfoundland is one and-a-half hours ahead of Quebec), and had a quick breakfast with our hosts. Tom was leaving promptly for a remote village in Labrador and Mary was driving him to the airport, after which her fellow musicians came over to rehearse my husband’s piece. I took the time to go for a walk along the south shore of the harbour almost as far as F0rt Amherst. I took photos along the way:

DSC03393
Natural and unnatural garbage

DSC03394

DSC03395
The Battery

DSC03398

DSC03399
I actually had to climb to get this picture.

After the musicians left and we’d had some lunch, Mary drove us to the airport so we could pick up our rental car which rendered us mobile. We took advantage of this turn of events by driving out to Cape Spear, which, as you will see, is the easternmost tip of North America.

DSC03421

DSC03408

DSC03416

DSC03415

Tuesday, July 9 -- Once again we were up early. My husband was interviewed on the local morning radio show about that evening’s concert and after he got home, he, my daughter and I put on our walking shoes and headed out to Signal Hill. It’s called that because it’s where Marc0ni got the first wireless radio signal from Europe. Pretty cool, eh? It’s also an amazing bit of geology.

DSC03432
Fort Amherst seen from across the harbour.

DSC03441
Halifax harbour

DSC03444
Behind Signal Hill

DSC03447
You are here

DSC03449
Halifax from the Queen’s Battery

We arrived at the summit just in time to hear the harbour symphony, a daily event at 12:30 p.m. during the S0und Symp0sium festival. Different composers write pieces to be played by the horns of whatever ships happen to be at the docks that day. It was pretty good, actually, and we had great seats at the Queen’s Battery.

After that we took the road down to find lunch. My daughter had broken a sandal the day before at Cape Spear, so we tried to find her replacements, but were unsuccessful. Instead we walked back to Mary’s (my husband had already preceded us so he could drive to the dress rehearsal), rested, I bathed, and that evening we went to hear her concert and the premiere of my husband’s new trio. It was really great, and afterwards we went out for beer and pizza.

Tomorrow you’ll get more words and pictures.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>