Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

� Jack Frost nipping at my nose�

Monday, Dec. 20, 2004
10:51 p.m.
It�s so c-c-c-cold! The mercury has dropped to -28�C and I had to scrape frost off the window just now to see the thermometer at all. The house is freezing (we are niggardly with the electric heat) and the only truly warm place is right in front of the wood stove. If the temperatures continue like this, we will have no problem using up all the wood we ordered.

I did not update yesterday and have already lost it. I did get a fair bit of work done at the Quadra, that I remember, but tonight I had copied two lines (flute and oboe) when the power went off, causing all I had done to disappear. This was the second power outage of the evening (the first occurred when I was cooking supper and lasted for a panicky 30 seconds) and I decided that there might be more, considering the consumption of electricity; so I decided not to bother with the copying. Instead I tried reading, but ended up falling asleep on the loveseat under the afghan my mother crocheted from yarn ends, listening to the sound of the fan blowing the heat of the stove around the room, and feeling the freshness of wintry cold on my face from the double-glazed window behind me which causes heat to be lost by reflection. And you wonder why I hate winter.

Earlier today I went to the mall to do some more shopping. I was successful, if the lightening of my bank account is a measure of success. I bought three kitchen knives, Henkels, to replace our rapidly aging collection of slicers and dicers. I got a bread knife, a large blade for chopping vegetables, and an all-purpose knife, for $370! They were even 20% off. My girlfriend zitagsd advised me earlier that I should not be niggardly (there�s that word again) when it came to these utensils, as an expensive outlay would last me in the long run. I also got good-quality headphones for Buddy Boy, a fleece jacket for Hubby, and a box of Godiva truffles for myself, except that I gave the latter to my son so that he can wrap them up and say they�re from him. We had worked this out in advance, since his present for his dad (one of the Kill Bill films) was more than he had intended spending and it was my idea in the first place. It all works out: his gift to me doesn�t break him and I end up getting exactly what I want.

I ran into my doctor on my way out of Radi0 Shack. I haven�t seen her in three years (mea culpa) and have been trying to make an appointment, but the clinic has been crazy lately. She told me that things should slow down a bit by mid-January, so I will try then. It�s funny meeting people out of context. At first you can�t place where you know them from. Then it occurs to you that this is the person with the speculum. Right.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>