Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Happy New Year!

Monday, Jan. 6, 2020
11:27 a.m.
This seems like a once-a-year event. Hello, Diaryland. Next year? Same time, same place? I hope life is treating you well. It's not been the greatest year for me. Lots of people died, including my father-in-law at the beginning of November and a friend of my daughter, only 36, just days before his 37th birthday. That one is worse, since my father-in-law was 92 and had lived a long and fulfilled life (at least by the reckoning of the rest of the family); but Ian had not. He'd battled alcohol addiction for years, never winning the fight for long; and there is speculation that he died by his own hand, although no one has come forth with absolute proof. My daughter, who had been intimate friends with him, is devastated. His large circle of friends, including cousins and university colleagues, is in a state of grief. They've been holding meetups in bars remembering him, his kindness, how he made you feel special when you talked to him.

Here's to 2020, hopefully a better year, more happy stories, fewer sad ones. We can only hope.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>