Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Labour Day is upon us

Saturday, Sept. 1, 2007
8:41 p.m.
I chatted with Buddy Boy on MSN today and now I’m all happy and everything. When we left him in rez, he had plugged the provided cable into the computer and into the wall, and he was not connected to the internet. Today he told me that he noticed that one end was black and one end was blue, so he switched the ends and voilà! he has internet. That was simple.

Anyway, he’s settled in, his books are bought, his meal card is validated, his roommate is a drummer and he’s already hooked up with another guitarist and a keyboard player, and it looks like he’s got himself a band in the making. I miss him like crazy, but I knew that was going to happen. We’ll see him at Thanksgiving, which is only a month and a bit away, and everything will be cool.

Speaking of Thanksgiving, we just got an invitation to a wedding on that weekend, the brother of the cousin who got married two years ago, the very same cousin who happens to be a professor of drama at the same university where Buddy Boy is now in attendance. It’s one of her younger brothers (they’re twins) and I really don’t know them at all, but I think we’ll go since we’re going to be in the neighbourhood visiting family anyway. What the hey.

The weather has been beautiful, if a little cool. Little Princess went off to a wedding this afternoon with the keyboard player in her band (they’re just friends and he needed a date) all gussied in up one of my dresses. She looked fabulous. Hubby and I finished watching the first season of Trail0r Park B0ys (“You know what I’m sayin’?”) and tomorrow evening we’re having friends over for dinner.

The menu is as follows:

Curried pumpkin soup
Broccoli cheese strudel
Roasted vegetables with balsamic vinaigrette
Ruby lettuce salad with feta cheese and walnuts
Fruit sorbet with berries for garnish

Tomorrow I will be slaving over a hot stove. Yee haw!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>