Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

...and the walls came tumbling down.

Sunday, Oct. 1, 2006
9:16 a.m.
One of our neighbours already has his Hallowe’en decorations up (that’s a big thing in French Canada); I noticed them when we were driving home from Buddy Boy’s play last night, all lit up in orange with flashing lights. I’ll have to take a closer look today (after I’ve done my Latin homework). The plays were good. Buddy Boy was in the first one, a story of an internationally manned commune in France. He played a hungover/drunk Scotsman with a pretty authentic accent. I suppose the Scottish ancestry from his father’s side helps.

Every fall the drama department puts on “New Plays”: six nights (three different programmes) of works written, cast, directed, acted, and teched by students, the results of their play-writing class of the previous spring. Auditions are open to absolutely anyone, so it was a great opportunity for Buddy Boy to get involved. I’m so proud of him!

The news though, which is terrifying, is that a section of an overpass in LavaI collapsed yesterday, crushing cars underneath. I heard about it when I turned the radio on to get the hour so I could reset the grandfather clock, which has been running fast. The newspaper this morning is full of articles about the rescue operations and aerial photos of the roads, a huge chunk just dropped through from the highway above onto the road below. The only survivors were the pedestrians and motorists who were on the top section, and even they are in critical condition. What a horrible thing.

Every time we drive to Ontari0 we have to go through MontreaI to get to the main highway going west, and that means navigating clover leafs and overpasses and underpasses of aging concrete that are heavily trafficked all the time. I do not ever feel safe until we are on the flat highway heading cross country, and now I shall feel even less so. We go next week to visit family for Thanksgiving. What a delightful thought.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>