Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Happy Pumpkin Month!

Saturday, Oct. 1, 2005
11:10 a.m.
After acquiring several bags of potting soil, I went on a repotting spree, both yesterday and this morning. The burgmansia has been dug up from the yard and put in a nice clay vessel (I did great violence to its roots and am hoping that it doesn�t decide to punish me by dropping all the buds waiting to burst into bloom at the first opportunity), and I unpotted, ripped rootlets off, and repotted the two citrus plants (one lemon, one grapefruit) that were sitting on the porch all summer. I also cut off a whole pile of branches, and now all three trees are in my dining room, crowded in with the others which are also desperately in need of trimming (the pointsettia has gone wild and the hibiscus is threatening to break through the ceiling to the floor above). As well, the azalea that Hubby gave me for Mother�s Day last spring has now become three azaleas in separate pots, and they too are vying for space in my overstuffed diningroom cum greenhouse. This plethora of vegetation needs to be addressed, at least in terms of distribution. It�s nice having them all together in one room for ease of watering, but it is a bit like walking into a jungle.

The weather is glorious, sunny, not too cool, a perfect early fall day. This weekend is traditionally when the leaves are at the height of their colours in the Townships, but for the past couple of years it seems to be getting later. We could blame it on global warming or just seasonal flux. It doesn�t really matter. But I have never seen a display of fall colours as brilliant anywhere as where I live. Next weekend is Thanksgiving, and we are driving to our families in Ontario for Turkey Day, as my mother-in-law has renamed it. She�s invited my mom too, which is really nice of her, but wants us all to come on Saturday, sleeping over so that we can gorge ourselves on Sunday, and then head back to my mother�s after dinner. This means that the four of us get to camp out in their livingroom overnight (the kids on the couches, Hubby and I on a futon) as my mother will have the little bedroom. If I didn�t know that it would mortally insult her, I would suggest to my mom-in-law that we�ll just stay in a motel that night. She�d love that�not.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>