Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The wind, the rain, the Creation and the blues.

Tuesday, Nov. 1, 2005
10:52 p.m.
The weather has changed. Yesterday and today it was balmy, but this afternoon the wind began to blow, swirling the fallen leaves in eddies on the driveway and in the street, and now it is raining, the temperature falling and winter definitely on its way.

It was a very long day. I drove Little Princess and Germ to the campus for her daily dressing change, then hung out in the music tutors office playing spider solitaire and talking to one of my colleagues. She recently broke up with the guy she�d been with for years, a young man whom none of her friends really liked and couldn�t understand what she saw in him. She�s actually doing quite well on her own, but asked me how long one should reasonably wait before diving into dating again. I didn�t have an answer to that, but apparently there is a whole committee of her friends who have made it their business to review any potential partners and pass judgment. I think this is hilarious.

I taught my four students today and went to choir, where we spent an inordinate amount of time in sectionals, going over parts of The Creation which are particularly tiring for the soprano voice, and the same kind of torture in a spiritual which is to be the encore for the concert. I was vocally exhausted by the end, not a good thing, as I have to be in tip-top condition for Friday. It�s hard to believe that I�ll be singing the blues so soon.

I did some good stuff in writing group tonight, and that�s about it for now.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>