Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Everybody jump up on the peace train.

Friday, May. 1, 2009
11:00 p.m.
For a day where I spent most of it in my PJ’s and bathrobe, this is going to be an eventful entry. It started with an email from a second cousin who lives in Texas. Her father, who lives in NJ, is a first cousin to my mother and I am extremely fond of him. He’s the only relative, except for my mom, who came to Hubby’s and my 25th-anniversary party two years ago. He decided that he wants to go to a family wedding in the city of my birth the third Sunday in May, a wedding to which I had already RSVP’d my regrets as we are going to my niece’s wedding the next weekend, and Hubby’s jazz trio has gig the day before.

However, if this cousin is going, I want to be there. He’s getting up in years and I really don’t know how many more times I will be able to see him. His daughter will be accompanying him and her siblings will spell each other off looking after their mother, who has Alzheimer’s.

Hubby is on the west coast of this vast land attending workshops for the opera he’s writing. I’ve emailed him, but I really have to talk this over with him before I make a final decision.

However, I contacted my lovely daughter, and she said she would love to be my date for this affair. I got a-hold of the mother of the bride, and she said that it wasn’t too late to change my RSVP and she would be delighted if Little Princess and I celebrated this joyous event with them. I just have to let her know for sure by Tuesday. My cousins will be flying and renting a car, so I can beg a ride with them to the parents of the groom’s place on Monday morning for a brunch for out-of-town visitors. I can stay at Little Princess’ and sleep on her couch.

So, that’s my big news. Otherwise, I sat and played at the computer all day. I did a NYTimes crossword puzzle (it was really hard), worked at my poem, and made and ate food. Then this evening I got dressed and went out to a concert of acoustic blues/roots/folk/country music. I think I dozed off a few times. So this is goodnight.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>