Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

No rest for the menopausal.

Thursday, May. 1, 2008
12:10 p.m.
It just finished snowing. How do you like them apples? May 1, I spit in your face!

The only member of my household who actually had to remit actual money, I got my tax envelopes to the post office in plenty of time yesterday and got rather tipsy last night on a concoction of vodka, crème de cassis, blueberry/pomegranate juice and fizzy water. I then proceeded to have an uninhibited heart-to-heart with one of my internet pals who obligingly stayed up way past his bedtime (it was tomorrow for him while it was still today for me) so that his drowsiness helped to “even the playing field” somewhat, upon the conclusion of which I went to bed at approximately 11 p.m.

My husband joined me later, woke me in fact; we spent a few minutes cuddling before I had to disentangle myself when a hot flash sent my body temperature soaring through the roof, and then I couldn’t fall asleep again because he was snoring. Even ear plugs didn’t help. So I tried sleeping on the couch in the living room (Little Princess came home at this point, it must have been about 2 a.m.) but found it too uncomfortable, so I relocated to the guest room in the basement.

That was fine, except that Hubby wandered down there an hour or so later wondering where I had disappeared to. He asked me if it had been too hot in the bedroom and I replied, “No, too noisy.” I awoke this morning, after telling a student I met in the library yesterday where I was returning Hubby’s books that I could sleep as late as I wanted come May 1 because everything was done, at 7:00. I was not amused.

Whereupon I proceeded to play on my daughter’s computer (which she just leaves lying on the kitchen table, so the temptation is there), only to have her grump at me when she descended for breakfast because she wanted to use it. Sigh. There is no justice anywhere.

Oh, and then it snowed just a few minutes ago. How lame is that?

Tomorrow Little Princess and I will take the bus to Toronto to visit my aging ma. We haven’t yet decided when we’ll return. I know it’ll be hard for you, but you’ll survive my absence. Really you will.




|

<~~~ * ~~~>