Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

On the mend, incrementally.

Thursday, June 1, 2006
10:32 a.m.
One of the things I really like about Diaryland (as opposed to those other weblog sites, you know which ones I�m talking about) is that I can alter the date setting and even edit it. Hence, today is June 1, not Jun. 01. Isn�t that so much more elegant?

Oh, that reminds me, it�s June 1. After yesterday, smoking is verboten in all public places in the Province du Qu�bec, including bars and restaurants, and is not allowed within nine metres (30 feet) of doorways to government and public buildings such as schools. Hubby and I had planned to go to the pub last night to celebrate, but of course I�m not ready to go anywhere yet with this (quite literal) pain in the ass.

A quick update on that: I got out of bed this morning by sliding my legs over the side on my belly, getting into a kneeling position, then righting myself and heading for the medicine cabinet to seek out some extra-strength acetaminophen. It doesn�t work as well as the A.C.&C., but my lucidity is less compromised. Heat seems to help too. Don�t worry, I will get better, I promise, and then my plan is to strengthen those lower abdominal muscles and the surrounding area and never let this happen again!

It�s a funny thing about pain, the way it colours your perceptions of everything around you. Most of the time I may have minor aches and twinges here and there related to my sedentary (it�s not really that sedentary) lifestyle and the fact that I�m not as young as I look, but to have this constant sensation of discomfort is a totally different story. When I was a volunteer at the T0. distress centre 30 years ago (was it really that long ago?) I remember talking to callers who suffered from chronic pain and having no concept of what they lived with. I think now I have a better idea.

We had quite the thunderstorm last night which I only witnessed through closed eyelids. Even then it was bright and loud. Today has been non-stop rain. I hope I�ll be able to get out for a walk. That�s the only thing that really seems to help.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>