Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Happy Birthday, Canada!

Saturday, July 1, 2006
9:39 a.m.
I was anticipating driving to Coaticook yesterday morning to pick up my son, but fortunately he got a ride home with some people for whom L'vile was on the way. Because of the rain, the after-prom party, which was supposed to have been at a racetrack, was moved to someone's house because the original venue got flooded out. He said that at one point there were 200 people in attendance (reminding me of a recent house party in the comic strip Zits given by Pierce when his parents were out of town), but miraculously, nothing got broken. He slept for about four hours on an exercise bench. I guess that was better than the floor. When I mentioned that it wasn't very conducive to getting laid (which is what I understand high school graduates are supposed to do after their proms), he said that some people did. When I pressed further, as in, "How do you know?" he said, "It was sort of common knowledge." Well, 200 people jammed into one house, I guess you can't keep an orgasm a secret.


As any of you who are diehard addicts of the D'land chatroom know, it seems to not be working more than is working. We poor users have gone for months without being able to avail ourselves of this method of communication, but coldandgray gave me a great idea when we were chatting the other day. She told me that Andrew had finally gotten around to fixing something to do with her diary only after she posted a banner begging him to. I mentioned this to my friend darkomen who came up with four beautiful banners which I then submitted for approval:

Within hours after submitting them, I logged into the chatroom, just to see, and lo! it was running! There in my email inbox was a letter from Andrew which read as follows:

those banners are hilarious, but the chat is already back hah!! Has been for hmm.. a little while anyhow!

andrew


And now, the reason I could not update yesterday: Hubby and I drove into Montreal to see a live concert with Dee Dee Bridgew@ter at the M0ntreal International Jazz FestivaI. It wasn't exactly what we were expecting; actually, it wasn't anything like what we were expecting. We had been hoping for a concert of jazz standards, but instead she gave us almost three hours of songs that are known in both English and French, most with French origins, but the other way around too. She lived in Paris for many years and fell in love with the music that Edith Piaf and similar chansoniers made famous, and this was the realization of a project of hers called "Jai deux amours" (mon pays et Paris). Her band was amazing: accordion, guitar, bass and drums. Such incredible musicians.

I must say, she doesn't have a beautiful voice, and sometimes she makes some downright ugly sounds, but her energy and her enthusiasm and her rapport with her band members and the audience made up for everything. Her improvs are sensational. She's past 50, is going to be a grandmother within a month, and she looks like a million bucks, dancing and moving and just being an incredible performer.

Afterwards we watched a bit of what was happening on the free stages, but I found it was mostly too loud for me. We ate supper at the Bat0n R0uge across the street from PIace des Arts, and then found our car (we'd parked in the structure below the theatre complex, and it meant taking a circuitious route to get to the lower parking level) and drove home, arriving around 1 a.m.

Today is Canada Day, a holiday, and I have absolutely nothing planned, besides the usual laundry, which I hope I'll get to hang out. So far it's sunny, so I might get my wish.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>