Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Life is a musical...NOT!

Friday, Jan. 1, 2010
11:27 p.m.
I neglected to mention yesterday that our dishwasher has bitten the dust. It started making noises that sounded like death rattles a couple of weeks ago, and then proceeded to go through whole cycles without actually ever spraying water on the dishes. As a result, I taped a DO NOT USE sign on it, with a sad face, and we have been washing dishes in the sink the old-fashioned way. I feel as though my true love has betrayed me, the dishwasher being the one appliance I truly had a depth of emotion for. It just goes to show: Don’t trust an appliance to return your affection!

Today was a very lazy January 1st. Hubby and I got to bed at around 1 a.m. after watching a DVD and then a comedy special on television. We cracked open a bottle of bubbly and didn’t finish it. We’re getting old. Buddy Boy revealed that he came home at 5:15 a.m. I never heard him.

Of course New Year’s is a time to reconnect with family, and I spoke to both my mother and my older brother. The former sounds much more lucid than she has previously, but she is also much unhappier. She has no illusions about her situation and I am still powerless to do anything. During the holiday I sent an email off to a volunteer agency run by the city, asking if there was any programme of which my mother could avail herself, but I’ve heard nothing yet. I also sent a note off to a friend who is a volunteer hoping that maybe he has some ideas.

In the meantime, we keep on keeping on, even though there seems to be little hope. Tonight Hubby and I watched one of my Christmas presents, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying. It was charming. If only life were a musical with lots of singing and dancing. Then it might be a little more bearable.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>