Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Let the games begin!

Tuesday, Jan. 1, 2008
9:32 a.m.
A dear friend of mine wrote in his blog earlier today:
Do you sometimes wonder if you could go back in time, would you change the direction of your life and where? If you had that choice of hindsight, where would your life split off in a differant direction from the present one: that meeting many years past, the new year, a chance passing in a distant city like comets passing round the sun? Where would you choose that split? Would you dare go back to it and take that different direction?

On this brand-new day of a brand-new year, it’s interesting to ponder those questions. I have been thinking of them a lot of late. Events in my own recent past have made me wonder if I wouldn’t have chosen a different path and found myself elsewhere, perhaps married to someone else with different children, living in a different part of Canada or outside it. But then, that is not the way it is and we can’t change the past, so all it ever becomes is conjecture.

The one single thing that has affected my life most in the past several years is the internet. It has introduced me to people I would otherwise never have met, people whose interests match my own and with whom I felt an immediate kinship upon meeting. I sometimes worry that my online friendships supercede my 3D ones (the built-in spellchecker doesn’t like that word for some reason), but then I think of the possibility of moving from this place and the only friends I would be able to carry with me are the ones with whom I am in contact solely through this medium.

And so, to my friends out there who read this diary who have added immeasurably to my life just by being there, whom I encountered in virtual spaces and have made flesh, I love you and thank you. Let the games begin!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>