Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I want you to rock me like my back ain’t got no bone.

Sunday, Feb. 1, 2009
10:30 p.m.
Do you ever stare at the white box and not know how to begin a diary entry? I need an opening line, a hook, that makes everything spill out after, like sugar from a bag, or something equally enticing. But even though I have things to write about, I don’t know how to begin.

It seems I’ve been spending more time in my pyjamas and bathrobe than in clothes. This is what comes from only having to be at the university three days a week. Hubby and I were supposed to go to a flute recital on Friday night, but the pianist got deathly ill (hopefully that is an exaggeration) at the last minute and the concert was canceled. Hence, there was no need to get dressed and go out. Actually, I think I did bathe and put on clothing, if only to buy groceries.

Saturday was more of the same. Hubby and I ended up watching a pay-per-vu movie on our in-home entertainment system. It was actually pretty good, a film called Ghost Town about this misanthropist dentist who dies during a routine colonoscopy, is resuscitated and subsequently sees dead people. It was a comedy. I like comedies.

Then this afternoon I took myself to the children’s matinée at the university to see the second of the Madascar movies. I never saw the first one, so I had no idea what to expect. This one turned out to be very funny and not really a kid’s movie. The jokes were way too sophisticated.

It was strange being in a theatre full of young families with small children. I remember taking my own kids to the Sunday afternoon offerings when they were little, and to be there on my own seemed a little indulgent. But, hey, it was a movie on a big screen at a cheap admission price. Well, cheaper than the evening films, anyway.

Tonight after supper Hubby and I went over one of the tunes we’re doing on the blues concert, the one I’m most worried about because I don’t have a chart for it and I’ve been learning it off the recording. I started transcribing it, but stopped because it was just too complex. It’s really hard getting these things down on paper.

Anyway, it’s coming and I feel a lot better about it now.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>