Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Silent night

Saturday, Dec. 1, 2007
7:39 p.m.
I love chocolate, I really do, but chocolate, sadly, does not love me.

Yesterday Hubby began his 50th year of life as he knows it. It was a good birthday. It included some of his favourite activities, including a game of tennis with the francophone crowd (which was initiated by an incoming phone call during another of his favourite activities, damned phone) and then culminated with dinner at our favourite Italian restaurant, topped with chocolate-mousse cake from a Belgian-style bakery in town (there are certain advantages to living in French Canada) which was itself topped with three active sparklers by the restaurant staff. We also rented a DVD on the way home, but I was too exhausted to watch it and let him do so with Little Princess.

We viewed it together this afternoon (as he’d actually missed parts of it, having fallen asleep in the middle), Mr. Legume’s Holiday, and it was hilarious, much better than the previous film featuring that character. We were commenting that it truly was a “foreign” film, having several different languages spoken (Russian, French, English) with subtitles. I enjoyed it immensely.

The temperature has taken a nosedive, and I have decided not to go to the party where Little Princess’ band is playing tonight, even though I could have got a ride to and from with Ed. Instead I shall stay in with Hubby and watch some other DVD’s we’ve had lying around too long. I just want to stay by the fire and wrap myself in a quilt, drink hot chocolate and hibernate.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>