Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The beat goes on...

Thursday, Nov. 19, 2009
11:40 a.m.
Okay, I lied. I also had to separate the bass trombone from the tuba, and got sleepy and stupid and made a fatal error which meant I had to go back and do the tuba all over again. You see, I extract the line as is in the score, create a second line, copy the contents of the first line onto the second line, erase the bits I don’t want from each line, and then create a second document where I save the instrument-appropriate lines and then format them with page turns, etc. My first document is always called by the second part, so in this case it was Tuba. I saved it as Bs. Trb. and erased the Tuba line, formatting it into a lovely bass trombone part. So far so good. Then I went back to Tuba where I had to erase the bass trombone line and format what was left, and I accidentally erased the wrong line and then saved it that way as I started formatting. Aieeeeeee! This meant extracting a new Bs. Trb./Tuba part and getting rid of the upper instrument again. I was almost at the lying-down-on-a-railway-track-and-waiting-for-the-train point, but luckily Tuba is not a long part and I got it done.

I have just finished printing out the third percussion part, which leaves Piano, Harp and Strings: seven separate parts. Can she do it? Will she survive the endless corrections? Stay tuned for the further “Agonies of Elgan”, coming to a diary near you!



|

<~~~ * ~~~>