Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Ba’al Zvuv

Saturday, May 19, 2007
11:23 p.m.
The local regional high school presented an adaptation of William G0Iding’s L0rd of the FIies and Buddy Boy and I took his uncle to see it tonight, closing night. It was very well done, very disturbing, dark, violent, and I was extremely uncomfortable. I remember reading the novel in junior high or high school (probably the latter) and finding it rather strange, but as an adult I find it even more disturbing, especially watching it being acted out by kids. The cast had both boys and girls in it, rather a change from the usual all-male version. Piggy was played by a girl, for instance, and so was the leader of the pacifist faction (Ralph (?) in the original). The boy who played Jack tonight (they were double cast in the main roles) is a friend of Buddy Boy’s, a boy who’s been to our house on many occasions, and it was especially disturbing to see him play such a fuckwad. Whenever he was onstage talking, I just squirmed, in the same way I did when Agamemnon was onstage during Andr0mache. Interesting how a character in a dramatic presentation can have that kind of effect on me.

Otherwise it’s been pretty quiet around here. I did laundry, copied music, actually slept in until 9 o’clock this morning. Now I think I’ll head off to bed.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>