Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

We have a losing proposition here.

Thursday, May 19, 2005
7:03 p.m.
My husband, after almost 23 years of marriage, has finally figured out why I suddenly turn from a sex kitten into a wildcat in a matter of days. All by himself, he checked the calendar which I keep attached to the fridge with magnets where I circle the first day of my menstrual cycle (in red ink yet), a calendar which I put up for his benefit and which until now he has failed to consult. Glory hallelujah!

Apart from that, I am desperately trying to lose the weight I put back on starting before our trip to T&T when I was gorging myself on Eat-More Bars in an attempt to keep up my morale while I slaved away at the parts for the symphony. Then of course we were on holidays, then I was in New York, and then in Calgary I realized that my purple Chinese silk dress which fit me like a glove when I first made it now is tight like a girdle and all my excess has turned to excess fat. This is not good, especially since I consider myself somewhat of an expert on weight loss and maintenance. My sister-in-law and her husband celebrate their 25th wedding anniversary on June 4, and I want to be back to my svelte 110 lbs., the weight at which I purchased my leather pants, so that I can wear something knowing that I actually look good in it. Wish me luck. I�ll need it.

Little Princess and I strolled into town together under cloud-filled but sunny skies and sprinkles of rain, she to deposit a cheque from her grandparents for graduating at the bank, I to mail a letter and buy hair dye and contact lens solution at the pharmacy. It�s nice to have the sun back, but the temperatures are still cool. And yes, in case you were wondering, I did in fact do a load of wash and hang it out.

Also today, zitagsd and I were finally able to try out Skype using headsets, except that she couldn�t seem to hear me loud enough even though I had my microphone volume turned up all the way and she had her computer volume likewise on full, and her voice kept cutting out, hiccoughing as it were, and I could barely understand her. It was kind of neat, actually, but I think I still prefer text messaging. I am a very fast typist, so for me it�s no big deal. Plus, I get to edit what I say before I hit �send�. If only we could do that orally.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>