Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

You can’t always get what you want...

Wednesday, Mar. 19, 2008
11:14 p.m.
It all started around 3:30 a.m. when I woke up with a hot flash, that menopausal misfiring of the body’s thermostat mechanism. It was succeeded by several more hot flashes, to the point where I removed my flannelette pyjama top and replaced it was a loose cotton tank top. When I awoke, it was 9:00, much later than I normally sleep on a weekday, considering I also had to teach this morning.

My 11:30 student brought me a broadway tune she wants to learn, so we started working on that. She told her colleague and my 1:15 student that she had “an awesome lesson”, so maybe I did something right. Who knows? He also had a pretty good lesson, or at least I thought it was good. He probably gets über frustrated by my pedagogical methods, but at least he’s hopefully learning something. My 2:00 was ill, and my 3:00 could not stand still, or keep her arms at her sides. I ended up handing her a CD which was lying on the windowsill and making her hold it as though it were the most precious thing in the world while she sang Amazing Grace. Her arms were still, but she’d start shimmying her legs. Argh!

In Latin we finished Cicero’s second speech to the senate regarding that scoundrel Cataline and next week or soon thereafter we will begin looking at some of Virgil’s Eclogues. I often feel I have bitten off more than I can chew in this class. What is my fascination with dead languages anyway?

Anyway, there’s more (there’s always more), but I can’t really talk about it. Any of it. Really, as much as I’d like to. -sigh-

|

<~~~ * ~~~>