Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It’s all in the timing.

Thursday, Jul. 19, 2007
7:22 p.m.
It’s been one of those days where timing has been everything. It started by leaving the house just a wee bit late, walking Little Princess to the U, then hoofing it over to strike HQ and arriving there just as the demonstration march was underway. I managed to run out ahead and take a photo:

There was a gathering in front of the campus, the flying pickets were introduced, speeches were made, and enthusiasm was shown,

during which, I saw Hubby standing at the edge of the crowd. He was off to see the dentist to have the second of his dry socket treatments, so I went with him to keep him company. It didn’t take very long, and in the waiting room I got to laugh at the funny cartoons and email jokes in the blue binder kept for that purpose. Especially hilarious were the captions given to ultra-ambiguous pictograms supposedly instructing people of appropriate action in the case of terrorist acts. One of my favourites was a drawing of a man walking towards a building. It was not in scale and the man was much larger than the building. The humorist had written: In the event of terrorist attack, you may find yourself grown to giant size. When going through doorways, watch your head.

We stopped at the campus one more time on our way home so I could say goodbye to a young man from the choir who defended his Master’s thesis in physics this afternoon and will be leaving for his home in France tomorrow. Thence he goes to New Zealand where he will pursue his doctorate. I will probably never see him again. Hopefully I am wrong.

Hubby hadn’t left yet, so we drove home the rest of the way together (although I had kind of been looking forward to the walk). We had lunch (he can only eat soft foods on one side of his mouth), then he went off to a jazz trio rehearsal (which didn’t go so well because he was all doped up with pain killers; in fact, he probably shouldn’t have been driving). I did internet stuff, and then thought about bringing in the laundry.

Well, it was just a little moist out, I could feel a prickling of rain on my arms as I brought in the clean clothes. Then I got a plastic container and picked a handful of currants from one of the bushes and the rain came down in a sheet. That was awfully good timing.

There is a party at the ANAF hut tonight for the union and the flying pickets, so I’ll try to drag Hubby there. He could use a night out. No beer though. Uh uh.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>