Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Dinner, a movie, a dram and canal.

Saturday, Jan. 19, 2008
12:00 p.m.
I can’t believe I didn’t update last night. Shame on me! I was surprised and delighted just now to read that teranika had her baby yesterday, a beautiful daughter. Congratulations! On the one hand, I remember all the work and frustration that goes along with having babies, and on the other, I kind of miss my kids at the various stages of infancy and childhood. All the old ladies told me to treasure this time because it goes by so quickly, and even though I couldn’t wait for my children to get to an age where we could converse and communicate without me having to guess what they wanted, they were right (the old ladies, that is). In retrospect it went by very quickly. At the time, I thought it was an eternity. But life is like that, no?

The first concert of the new year happened at the music department last night, a wind quintet with the ineffectual department chair on piano, and at first Hubby said he wasn’t going because these people never go to his concerts (or mine, for that matter) and we should stay in, have a nice dinner, sit by the fire, watch a movie, make love, etc. Then he had a change of heart, saying that he was being petty, and maybe we should go to the second half and stay for a bit of the reception. It was all good to me, I didn’t really care one way or another.

So after supper he practised guitar and I did stuff on the computer, waiting for him to finish, which he did at about 9:30 p.m., much too late to go to the concert considering it was probably already over. So we carried out our previous plan and watched Mr. & Mrs. Smith (which I hadn’t seen before). It was a black comedy that ended well for the protagonists and badly for almost everyone else. I was really expecting, when they opened the door of the shed they were hiding in in the department store, that they would be mown down Butch Cassidy-style. Oh well. It was not to be.

I met yesterday morning with the recorder ensemble. We don’t have a bass, unfortunately, which limits the repertoire we can play. We have our first rehearsal on Monday at 9:00 a.m. (yawn), and thereafter it’ll probably be on Tuesday evenings. I really wonder what I’m doing there.

Also, the flutist whom I had asked to play in the aria from Lucia emailed me a while ago to say he couldn’t do it since he was in the local wind ensemble and their first rehearsal coincided with my concert. I was disappointed, but Ms. Piano said she could manage on her instrument. Then he called me this morning to say that the ensemble has told him they don’t need him, so he is available. So, I told him in lieu of payment I would make him an apple pie, sweetened with maple syrup. That’s fair, isn’t it?



|

<~~~ * ~~~>