Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

To bail or not to bail? That’s one question.

Tuesday, Feb. 19, 2008
9:56 p.m.
As I was gaily chatting with essaywriter, I got an email from our host advising me that my supergold membership is coming up for renewal, and I was advised to bail in no uncertain terms. I’m so indecisive. On the one hand, I am starting to feel that this place has betrayed me with all its breakdowns. On the other, I’ve been here so long, and it was my first blog; I’ve made so many friends here and I feel a certain loyalty to the place. Also, we’ve been informed that changes are afoot. I just can’t decide right now. So I won’t. Still, I have alternatives if I need them.

I mentioned my student of the unpronounceable last name before. I think he really is trying to learn something. Last week I taught him about breath support and today it was obvious that he’s been trying to get the principles right. So we discussed vocal space in today’s lesson, and I got him to make a good “aw” sound, as opposed to the “uh” he was making before. He still has some problems singing in his own register. I demonstrate an exercise in my octave, and he promptly imitates me in falsetto. But he was getting it right before the session was up.

My student of the unpronounceable last name understands everything I say to him in English, but he says very little. It turns out he speaks five different languages, four of them African. I am duly impressed. No wonder he’s shy with English.

The music we are doing in choir makes me want to gag. I have to ask myself why I am actually there this term. Why? Again, that loyalty thing. I really don’t know. Some of the songs our fearless leader has chosen are so incredibly terrible that I really and truly don’t want to be singing them. I just can’t understand his choices, nor his taste. Gah!

After yesterday’s melt (the river is quite high), the temperature has plunged once more. I’m looking forward to a week in the sun. I really am.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>