Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Drudge rhymes with sludge.

Sunday, Feb. 19, 2006
11:02 p.m.
As I could have predicted, Hubby was not pleased that this student had offered to take me to the black and white formal next month. He himself does not want to go, but he also doesn�t want me going with anyone else. While I think this is blatantly unfair, I can also see his point of view. It�s just too bad that we lead such busy lives and we never seem to have any time to do any fun things together that we both enjoy. He has promised me that he will show me a good time when we are in Cuba next week and that we can try to plan more �fun� activities, including going out for dinner, movies and finding activities we can pursue together, like snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. While I still feel a little hurt and misunderstood, I can see that he now sees the need to pay me a little more attention.

I awoke at 7 a.m. and after going to the bathroom and crawling back into bed, I slept until 10 o�clock. I guess I needed it. I also got inspired to clean the bottom of the dishwasher door, where it comes in contact with the floor of the interior, and discovered after removing the crud that accumulates there that there is a rubber or plastic flap/gasket which keeps water from leaking to the outside and that I could reach my fingers inside and pull out the most disgusting sludge imaginable. So I did that, put the fingers of my left hand in underneath this barrier and ran them along the inside, dislodging this crap, when I felt an unmistakable pain, pulled out my hand and realized I had sliced open the tip of my left index finger. I had also lacerated all the fingers on that hand, but this one was bleeding all over the place and took quite a while to staunch. In fact, bandaged and working on the second clarinet part (actually the second horn part transposed) for the Mozart symphony the chamber orchestra will be playing, I realized I was leaving miniscule droplets of blood all over the computer keyboard.

I know I�m always complaining about winter, and this latest cold snap is really difficult to handle, but at least the river looks like it may be starting to freeze over. The chunks of ice floating on top are getting bigger, and the sheets that spread out from the islands and shores seem to be getting wider and thicker. I hate the cold, but it just seems so wrong when things don�t go according to plan. At least I�ll be escaping it for a week.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>