Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I hate copying.

Sunday, Feb. 20, 2005
12:16 a.m.
Actually, I hate tranposing. I�m working on the 2nd clarinet part, for the second time, because somehow I managed to print out two first clarinet parts, after I had gone to the trouble of transposing both of them. I must be getting very stupid with fatigue.

This afternoon we took an hour-and-a-half to go hear Little Princess� band play at the Java. They were pretty bad. But we are supportive parents. All the time we were there I was thinking about being back at my Quadra, extracting parts. We took advantage of the outing to buy groceries, and I replenished our supply of contact lens solution, out of which we were totally. Hah! There is a grammatically correct construction for you! Supper was heated up leftovers, and then we were obligated to go to the symphony concert.

Our friend Stu from M�treal had a piece played by the OSS tonight. He called yesterday to say he would be in town for it and would we like to join him for dinner? I had to turn him down gently, saying that we couldn�t take time away from our work, but we would see him at the concert and hang out with him at the reception afterwards. We also offered our guest room in the event the weather turned bad and he didn�t want to drive home afterwards.

Fortunately, his piece was first on the programme. It was followed by the Brahms double concerto, played disappointingly poorly (the cellist was fantastic, but the violinist was rather sloppy, and the orchestra just isn�t good enough) and we felt no gumption about leaving at intermission, thus avoiding a surely less-than-satisfying rendition of Brahms� fourth symphony. We caught up with Stu backstage, reiterating our offer for him to stay over (since it was snowing rather heavily), offering our congratulations on his piece, and our regrets that we had to leave.

He arrived at our doorstep a half-hour ago, and Hubby has gone to entertain him. I am slogging away at redoing this clarinet part, practically tearing my hair out in despair. At times I just put my face in my hands and moan. Since the Quadra is so slow, I have my Latin textbook and am trying to memorize pronouns while it is computing. It�s either that or fall asleep in my chair.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>