Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It’s a “guy” thing.

Friday, Dec. 19, 2008
9:39 p.m.
Little Princess came home last night when she said she would, but for some reason Hubby thought she was taking a bus that arrived two hours earlier and bustled me off to the station to meet her. She wasn’t there, of course, but we did end up giving a lift to a Belgian woman who had just spent two days traveling from Nova Scotia to visit a friend in L’ville.

Today I drove Little Princess and Ed to a nearby shopping centre to buy yarn for her to make her Brumalia gifts. I got myself 400 gm. of a beautiful purple worsted-weight acrylic yarn which I have no idea what to do with. I was thinking a knitted skirt would be nice, but I realize I probably should have got a thinner ply for that. Oh well. I’ll think of something. We also ate lunch at the “Chinese” buffet. It certainly wasn’t Chinese. It was extremely greasy, though. I was not impressed by the paucity of vegetarian choices.

At dinner I mentioned the evening of karaoke I spent with a friend I met here, at D-land, when I was in T.O. over a month ago. Hubby reacted very badly. He disapproves greatly of the fact that I a) befriend men younger than myself online; and b) meet them in person. The friend in question is one I have known now for years. We are friends on Fazebook too, and I spoke to him on the phone one time when I was in the neighbourhood but we were unable to hook up.

I don’t know why Hubby gets so jealous, because that is what it is. In the 26 years we have been married, I have never cheated on him and I have never given him any reason to think I ever would. I made a serious vow and I’ve kept it. Yet, he is still terribly afraid of losing me. He has said as much, that he fears I will fall in love with someone else. My response to him when he said that was that I felt my heart was large enough to love others without displacing him. I have never put restrictions on his friendships and I am upset that he resents mine. I could say that I don’t get it, but unfortunately I do. It appears to be a guy thing.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>