Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I can wait, I suppose.

Tuesday, Aug. 19, 2008
9:38 p.m.
Yesterday I held a wee baby in my arms and rocked it and it felt like a bag of pudding and I was entranced. A couple whose wedding we were at a year ago had a son two weeks ago and yesterday marked their first anniversary. I guess that’s reason enough for a party.

The young father’s parents had family and friends over to their cottage on a nearby lake with a veritable smorgasbord of brunch fixings: lox, cream cheese, Montreal bagels, cheese bagels, sweet kugels, orange juice, coffee and desserts. It was way too much food. But it was lovely, sitting out on the deck, chatting with the Duchess, holding the bairn...

I’m looking forward to being a grandmother. That baby just felt so good!



|

<~~~ * ~~~>