Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Tengo que estudiar Español.

Sunday, Apr. 19, 2009
10:01 p.m.
A quiet Sunday after a very long and arduous week, spent alternately studying, knitting, playing on the computer and sleeping off my hangover. Yes, hangover. I overindulged at the choir party last night, drinking Smirn0ff mojito in a bottle. But it was fun, and I definitely needed to unwind.

The second concert went better than the first, mostly because we had an amazing audience. The first night there were jackasses who kept heckling and calling out things like, “I love you, Meredith!” I have no idea who Meredith is. My solo went really well last night as well, and the applause was thunderous. The crowed jumped to its feet during our final number, and I think I even heard some of them singing along to the encore. All in all, it was a very encouraging experience.

In the afternoon I went to the symphony’s dress rehearsal where I heard my husband’s piece played (along with the rest of the programme, since they didn’t do it in programme order). Our Serbian violist friend was there, so we got to hug and chat in the break. They were playing very well, and Hubby’s composition sounded fantastic. He told me that the concert went even better, and the audience there also gave him a standing ovation at the end of it. It’s about time! We’ve lived here for almost 22 years, and he’s finally being recognized by the community for the talent that he is.

This evening, for the hell of it, I thought I would search YouTube to see if there were any video clips posted of the choir concert. I found one from last night, and several from last year’s concert in the nation’s capital. I listened to several seconds of several of them. It only served to confirm my own opinion that we suck and I don’t understand why people pay money to come see us. I really don’t. Note to self: Don’t watch any more YouTube videos.

In the meantime, I’ve had songs from the show occupying my head space when I wasn’t reviewing the imperfect tense in Spanish or trying to remember direct and indirect pronouns. I hate these songs. They’ll just have to work their way through, I suppose, before I get some peace. Someone remind me why I do this again?



|

<~~~ * ~~~>