Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

All for a wooden flute

Thursday, Sept. 18, 2008
9:55 p.m.
Remember the recorder ensemble I coached/played in last semester? I had brought back from T.O. with me three of my mother’s recorders, a soprano, alto and sopranino, and I loaned the former two out to a couple of students. The girl who borrowed the soprano, a beautiful German instrument made from pearwood, accidentally left it in a bag which got stolen from a party she was at. I made her and the other student (who, as it happens, is also her boyfriend) sign receipts at the beginning, which was a good thing.

She looked high and low for her bag, but finally had to accept that it was truly gone with my recorder in it. I had a second, plastic instrument which I also gave her to practise on and play the concert with, and she gave it back to me, promising that she would pay for the lost wooden recorder.

I did some research online and found a vendor selling recorders at competitive prices. He voices them before shipping and includes detailed instructions on breaking them in properly. We had a lovely conversation over the phone when I ordered it, and it arrived today in the mail.

It’s beautiful and, as the man said it would, plays perfectly in tune. I think it’s probably better than the one that got lost, although it is supposed to be identical.

Anyway, I saw the naughty student in choir today and told her what she owed me. She said it might take a while, but she would pay me back. I had just better not forget. I hate it when people owe me money, almost as much as I hate owing it myself.

Speaking of students, I am still waiting for one more to contact me with her schedule so I can make up my own. Two others asked me today if I would teach them privately, so I might end up being very busy indeed. We shall see.

In the meantime, Spanish is keeping me entertained. Soy estudiante de español. Vivo en Canada y trabajo en universidad. Soy profesora de musica. Et cetera.

See? Fun!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>