Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

So tired

Friday, Oct. 19, 2007
9:59 a.m.
Even though I get seven to eight hours of sleep at night, I’ve been incredibly tired lately. Yesterday I had an ache behind my eyes, and last night we were going to watch the TPB movie, except it wouldn’t work on our DVD player, being a recorded CD that my daughter had somehow either acquired or downloaded and burnt. It worked fine on her computer, but she has a tiny MacBook with tinny speakers, and we wanted something a little higher class than that. But it wouldn’t work on Hubby’s laptop, even after he upgraded his system and installed the latest media playing software. By this time I couldn’t keep my eyes open and bid him good night and went to bed. It was 10:00 p.m.

Yesterday, being Thursday, I taught my two least likely students and I always come away from that frustrated. Really, I only have one, the German one, who is at all rewarding to teach. Considering I haven’t actually seen a paycheque yet, I wonder why I do this.

After supper, Hubby and I went to the hospital to visit the physics prof, his tennis buddy, who has definitely been diagnosed with leukemia (I forget which kind, exactly) and has started his chemo treatments. He seemed very chipper, much better than when he was admitted a week ago, but then he’s had a couple of blood transfusions and has run a course of antibiotics. We still had to wash our hands and wear a face mask if we were suffering from a cold or oral herpes (neither of which we were), and his white blood cell count is still quite low, and thus his immunity is compromised. They might let him go home as early as this weekend, which would be nice.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>