Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The Family Tree

Tuesday, Oct. 19, 2004
8:15 a.m.
My brother sent some more photographs, which means I don�t have to have any news to write up since I can always post a picture, no? As it happens, life is pretty dull around here. I went to the wind quintet presentation at Vlad�s class yesterday, and it went well. We all went out for lunch at the cafeteria afterwards, before sending the musicians on to the CEGEP in Sh�brooke where they had yet another class to play for. Hubby and I had a long discussion about why cafeteria food is terrible, and we decided it�s because the food itself is prepared hours ahead of time, and then allowed to sit in wait for consumers. Hence vegetables lose their edge and cooked dishes become mush and all the flavours blend until they are unrecognizable individually. We came home afterwards to a house empty of children (it was about 1 p.m.), so we took advantage and did married people stuff. That doesn�t happen very often these days.

And now the moment you�ve all been waiting for: Elgan is once again up a tree! This time, though, I am joined by my daughter next to me, my son above me, and on the other side of the trunk, my brother and his son. This is the same tree that my dad planted when I was maybe four or five years old and we could never climb it when we lived at home because it just wasn�t big enough. See what happens when you wait long enough?



|

<~~~ * ~~~>