Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Weirded out

Saturday, May 19, 2007
10:07 a.m.
I was so exhausted yesterday, and felt so lackluster, I’m exceedingly surprised that I had as much fun as I did in the end. I’m at that time in my cycle where I just don’t feel like associating with people, and yet circumstances right now dictate that I must.

First off I took my brother shopping to the temple of consumerism, where he loaded up on cheap pharmaceuticals, and to a few other emporia, then came home and I had to start cooking for impending dinner party. At about 4 p.m. I just couldn’t stand myself anymore, and resorted to having a nap for just less than an hour, waking up in better spirits, able to get back to the kitchen.

The menu was as follows:

chickpea and spinach soup from The Inspired Vegetarian
Cauliflower Cheese Pie from M00sew00d C00kb00k (I used yellow cauliflower, so it was quite festive looking)
basmati rice mixed with sautéed onions, garlic, pine nuts, sunflower seeds, craisins and various Indian spices
fiddle heads served room temperature with my lemon dressing
chocolate mousse

Everything was fantastic, especially the soup which I had never made before and was actually a little worried about. I drank enough beer and wine that I was feeling no pain but was still able to function at a reasonable level (although I would not have operated a motor vehicle or heavy machinery at that point) and our guests were fantastic. It was so nice to have Kevin O and his girlfriend over. My brother was delighted, they played blues together after supper, and D and I talked about everything under the sun. See, there are some people my own age I really do like.

They left sometime after midnight and I got the dishwasher loaded (it’s doing the second load as we speak), then my brother checked his email and found a letter from the brother of the sender of the suicide note who had, in fact, done the act. It kind of puts a damper on everything.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>