Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The lights are on, but no one’s home.

Tuesday, Mar. 18, 2008
11:41 p.m.
Quickly now, because it’s late and I’m tired and I want to go to bed. The Volvo, which roared so happily to life yesterday, would not start this morning when I promised Little Princess a ride to the university (it was again freezing). There was no response at all when I turned the key in the ignition, no sputter, no polite cough, no hiccough. Nothing. So she had to run to school and ended up only being five minutes late for her class.

I walked there for my 2:00 p.m. appointment, being joined by a neighbour boy and friend of Buddy Boy who was on his way to the college. I expressed my doubts as to whether or not my student would actually be there, considering he hadn’t attended last week’s session and had not informed me before or excused himself after. In fact, I was correct. He never came, so I took the opportunity to practise my own repertoire.

Little Princess and I walked home after choir and I made a hurried stirfry of chickenless chicken breast, green beans and corn which we ate under the watchful eye of the bass player in my husband’s trio who came to pick me up to take me to his place so I could record three tracks over pre-existing songs they had done. These will be submitted to a wine festival in the area that is looking for jazz bands with singers. We recorded Cheek to Cheek, Willow Weep for Me and Summertime. They turned out not too badly.

Just after I was returned home, Hubby arrived, unable to get into the garage because of the dead Volvo on the driveway. His interview went very well and he has done a lot of soul searching (I asked him if he found one or not) about whether or not he will accept this job if it is offered to him. I just feel kind of overwhelmed and helpless at all this.

Anyway, tomorrow is another day, a big day of teaching and Latin. We shall speak on this subject more in the days to come.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>