Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A day for all fathers.

Sunday, Jun. 18, 2006
8:18 p.m.
Headache. I have a headache. It started quite early this afternoon, went away for a while after I took aspirin, came back again and simply refuses to leave.

For Father's Day, my daughter printed out one of the photos she took of bleeding heart in our front yard, a closeup which turned out rather well, and photoshopped it so "Happy Father's Day!" was printed thereon in some nice contrasting font. I made Hubby a card too, something inconsequential and silly because I'd forgotten to buy him one, and presented him with the salsa record I purchased from one of those displays where you push the button and it plays a selection from the different discs on sale. They had the usual ambient Japanese flute and running water sounds, the schlocky new-age harp arrangements of classical pieces, and various other feel-good recordings, such as the Mormon Tabernacle Choir singing Home on the Range and a barrel full of monkeys typing the complete works of Shakespeare. I bought the salsa record because it reminded me of the music that was being piped constantly to the beach and pool areas of the resort we stayed at in Cuba. He may never play it, he may play it once, but it will go well with the Hawaiian shirt I gave him a couple of years ago with the parrots on it.

We drove to N. HatIey to hear a concert of piano music in the Catholic church given by the woman who should have got the piano/theory position in music two years go (I'm not going into that now). She opened with a Mozart sonata which she played well, but I felt the piano was too loud and boomy. It would have sounded much better on a fortepiano. She did play four Rachmaninoff preludes, very romantic and very powerful, and four pieces by a Quebec composer (who was there at the concert) which in no way sounded as though they were written a scant three years ago, but instead could have been French impressionistic works. Oh well. She did a great job. She's tiny, my height, very slim, with an incredible build. I was mesmerized by the contours of her deltoids and her handshake afterwards was extremely firm.

Following this (it was so hot in there, and we were so hungry) we walked over to the PiIsen and waited a long time for service, finally ordering our meal. That's when the headache came back with a vengeance and I took more aspirin. It started to fade, then returned as I was driving home (Hubby had consumed by himself a 750 ml. bottle of Belgian beer). It's no fair, I tell you.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>