Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I'm melting!

Tuesday, Jul. 18, 2006
1:10 p.m.
It was hot yesterday. Even here, in the land of ice and snow, it was truly hot. I glanced at the thermometer in the afternoon (sun full on it) and it said 38 degrees, which is about 100 for my American friends. The air was so still, the wind chimes were not stirring, the tops of the trees were limp, and you could sit by an open window and feel absolutely no breeze to dry the sweat off your sticky skin.

I watched the news with Hubby last night before retiring. The TV is in the basement, the only cool floor in the house, and we had to make sure to close and lock all the first floor doors and windows. There have been home invasions in Montreal and even in our own city. We read in the paper this morning about a couple who were attacked shortly after they arrived home from the fireworks festival. They must have been followed, for the man had the guichet (which roughly translates as "the take") for the night. Several thousands of dollars was stolen, the wife ended up in the hospital with respiratory distress from the pepper spray the bad guys used on them, and the husband also ended up there because the thugs beat him up. Sheesh! Hence, we lock our first-floor doors and windows at night.

I slept poorly, dozing fitfully, soaking my sheets with sweat. Even with the big fan on, it was barely comfortable. Then at about 3 a.m. the wind picked up and we ran around closing windows in anticipation of the rain to follow. It didn't arrive until two and-a-half hours later, heralded by lightening and thunder. I ran upstairs and unplugged my iMac from the wall (well, the powerbar that it's plugged into) for fear of another lightening strike.

The storm did cool off the air quite a bit, which was good, and there is now a pleasant breeze coming through my attic window. It stopped raining, so I could hang out laundry, and my cleaning lady was here, so the place is all fresh and smells like disinfectant household products.

The forecast is for more hot weather tomorrow.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>