Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

On the [side of the] road again...

Sunday, Feb. 18, 2007
8:44 p.m.
For want of a nail the shoe was lost. For want of a shoe, the horse was lost. Because I tried to use my Subaru to push my daughter’s friend’s car out of a ditch, I ended up in the ditch myself and we both needed the tow truck to come and pull us out. There are some things about winter that I could do without, and that is one of them.

Ed was supposed to pick Little Princess up for band practice at 6 p.m. and arrived on our doorstep at 6:10, out of breath and covered with snow. He had slid into the ditch on the next street over and was firmly entrenched in the snow. After putting on my coat and walking over, determining that manual pushing would not help, I returned home where I fetched my all-wheel drive vehicle and came back with the intention of pushing him bumper to bumper. If he hadn’t turned his wheels the wrong way, it might actually have worked, but alas, it was not to be. In the process, my driver side wheels got mired in the same ditch and I wasn’t going anywhere either.

Luckily I had my cell phone with me (you see, I was on my way to C0atic00k to pick up Buddy Boy, whom I had taken there earlier for a band practice [what a musical family I have!] and didn’t want to travel on the snowy highway without it), so I called CAA and they told me that they were very busy, they’d have a truck over my way in about an hour.

So Little Princess left by foot for the university, which is where they hold their practices, Ed decided to stay with his car and await the arrival of his father (he had used my phone to call him), and I hotfooted it back to my house where it was warm to wait for the CAA truck, calling Buddy Boy to tell him I would be late. The tow truck operator called in 10 minutes, just as Ed arrived on my doorstep again, half frozen, his father showing up shortly thereafter with his CAA card.

Ed and I ran back to where our cars were mired in the ditch, the truck driver attached a chain and pulled mine out, and then Ed’s, Little Princess got a ride back with the drummer as no one wanted to practise anyway, and I got turned around and drove out to C0atic00k, picking up Buddy Boy and arriving home safely, with my knuckles a little whiter in the process.

Fun, eh?

Apart from all that, which really only took a total of two and-a-half hours to unfold, I went skating at noon, had a rehearsal at 1 p.m. for Aftern00n Delight, and was still humming tunes from M0zart’s Die ZauberfIöte, performed by Jeunesses MusicaIes at Centennial Theatre last night, a minimalistic production, but still effective and quite fun.

And now, if you don’t mind, I’ll fix myself something alcoholic, because I think I’ve earned it.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>