Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Black, white and a percussionist named Gray.

Saturday, Feb. 18, 2006
11:28 p.m.
The singer in my daughter�s band, whom so far I have not named but whose initials spell Ed, came over this afternoon for a beading party. I know that sounds weird, but Ed�s a rather weird guy. He�s not gay, he actually likes the idea of having a girlfriend at some point, but for the moment he is celibate (it�s a long moment, mind you) and will likely remain that way unless someone very special comes his way. He brought with him a shoebox full of odds and ends, including a broken bracelet his brother had given him which I helped him repair, and beads which Little Princess restrung into an attractive necklace for him with a wooden triangular pendant. He stayed for supper (we had a full table, Buddy Boy also having a friend visiting and Little Princess� BF arriving while we were eating) which was takeout Chinese food, and then we all adjourned to the music department for a repeat performance of last night�s keyboard percussion recital.

The concert tonight was just as good as last night�s with one exception: our concert hall sounds so much better than the chapelle. Our vantage wasn�t as good, since last night we were sitting in raked seating above the performers and tonight we were on the floor and the stage is elevated, but it was that hollow wooden stage which made their instruments sound more resonant. I had a really nice chat afterwards with the male percussionist whom I felt I should know from somewhere even though we�d never met before last night. It turns out he has a namesake who is also a percussionist who was in the town where I went to university. What a coincidence. For this reason, tonight�s performer always uses his middle name.

There have been posters up around the department advertising a music students� formal dance, a �black and white� affair, on March 16. Since I�m in the choir and I hang out a fair bit with the students, I would really like to go. It would be fun to get dressed up and go dancing, and I asked Hubby if he would be interested. He is most definitely not interested. He has no desire to go to student events and feels that they don�t really want their profs there. Well, this may be true, but I argued that we never go anywhere like that. The last time I went dancing was before Christmas when he was playing guitar at the smoky bar and I ended up bopping with our daughter�s friends. The last time he and I danced was at the two weddings last summer, and the time before that was the staff and faculty Christmas party at the university. I don�t really consider that much of a social life.

I ended up driving Ed back to our place so he could pick up his car, and I mentioned as we were leaving the building that I would really like to go to the formal but Hubby is not interested. Ed said, �I�ll take you.� I just thought that was so sweet of him. I am now thinking that it could be a pity date on his part, or that he really would like to go but without a girlfriend it would be an awkward situation. This way we both get to go and there is no pressure on either side to �perform�. Now if Hubby is right and the students really don�t want their profs there, that is another story.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>