Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Steal away, steal away, steal away �

Sunday, Dec. 18, 2005
10:26 p.m.
It�s done, what I have declared online and to my family as my last Christmas concert with the UpIands MusicaI Society. Tonight�s concert went much better than last night�s, there were fewer wrong notes, less out-of-tune singing, and we fixed up a few places where the rhythm had given us trouble. The audience was smaller, but my family was there, as well as my daughter�s BF and the singer in their band. The latter three sat in the front row and looked incredibly bored, even though they insisted afterwards that they enjoyed it. The mulled wine was better; I think Dinah put more cinnamon in it than last night.

The problem lies in the fact that I haven�t informed anyone else that I am calling it quits. The audience members all congratulate us afterwards, say what a wonderful group we are, compliment me on my beautiful voice, and I know that we do bring them joy. This is such a small town, and what I do here is so rinkydink (I don�t think I�ve ever seen that written out before) that it could be done by anyone, and it would be just as appreciated. I haven�t decided yet if I will participate in the spring show or not. I�m still buzzing a little from the actual performance, so I�ll wait until the endorphins have dissipated before I make any such commitment.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>