Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Medeocrity at its most insipid.

Saturday, Dec. 18, 2004
11:11 p.m.
I have returned from one of the most insipid choral concerts I have ever been to, and that�s saying something. The programme was all Baroque pieces that would have been sung and played (a brass choir was on stage as well) in St. Mark�s, Venice: Gabrielli, Monteverdi, Sch�tz, and it should have been glorious. I don�t know what to blame it on. First of all, the church is one of these square jobs and we were sitting right at the back so the sound was rather muffled by the time it reached us. It should have been better dead centre or in the galleries, but one girl I spoke to who was sitting right in the middle said it was still pretty woofy there. Then the choir was very tentative with their entries at the beginning, so we always heard the brass first. Next the men were slightly out of tune and the women were just weak. Need I continue? As I said, it should have been wondrous, and it was just mediocre.

That�s it for the concerts for me this year. I�m looking forward to staying home for the next three weeks, only venturing out to buy groceries and possibly to get the traditional Brumalia bush. I suppose we should do that soon. The holidays are so quickly upon us.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>