Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Camphor... mmm....

Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2008
10:17 p.m.
Although rain was predicted for today, the weather was perfect for late summer. So perfect, in fact, that I was inspired to cultivate the borders in front of the house, dig out the lupine roots I missed last time (which were already sending up new sprouts), sweep the dirt off the walk and plant 50 daffodil bulbs. A swarm of midges kept trying to invade my body, looking for ways in through my facial orifices, which took away from the enjoyment I got from the task. I also sprinkled mothballs over the beds to discourage whatever animal has been digging them up lately, and now it smells like walking into an old lady’s closet when you open the front door onto the porch.

The rain came tonight as I was sitting at the computer. I’m supposed to be studying my Spanish vocabulary, but somehow I got sidetracked and never cracked my books. I'll call it an early night and look at it tomorrow morning before class.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>