Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Dullsville

Monday, Sept. 17, 2007
9:38 p.m.
My burgmansia is in a pot on the front walk and it doesn’t look like it appreciated being pulled out of the ground and having it’s roots savagely clipped so it could come back into the house. I was told by the lady at the pepineère that if you cut away some of the roots and replace the dirt with compost, it will flower. I never understood why I would plant it outside every spring and it wouldn’t flower all summer, but when I brought it back in before frost it always did. So now I know. I wondered why the nursery down the road always has huge burgmansias blooming from spring right through the summer, and she said that they probably do that procedure to it in February. It makes sense.

So, it’s that time of year. Any night we can have frost and I really don’t feel like going out and covering up tomatoes.

One of my new students, a drama major, already contacted me about his singing lessons. That’s a good sign. Then I got a cryptic email from my department chair about somebody dropping but somebody else signing up and him just making a switch, but it was so convoluted I wrote him back asking him to clarify. Geezus. People with doctorates yet.

Both cars were at the garagiste today. I went by the baladi studio this evening and found that there are no classes being offered on Monday that I’m interested in, the only intermediate/advanced is on Wednesdays, which is when writing group is. That is sacrosanct. So I guess I won’t be belly dancing this fall. Bummer.

This is a very boring entry and I shall quit right now before I put anyone else to sleep.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>