Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

A wind quintet concert and another photo

Monday, Oct. 18, 2004
8:37 a.m.
Since we are down to one internet-connected computer now, I can barely get a moment at it on weekends. You see, several years ago we bought this iMac so that the kids would have something to do homework and play games on and not be hogging my Quadra all the time. But I now seem to spend more time on the kids� computer than my own, which makes it very difficult to relinquish it when they need it, as they both did yesterday, to finish and print out assignments. What I would really like is a new Mac G5. They are gorgeous! But I am not ready to pack up my Quadra, although I�m finding that the screen seems to take forever to redraw in Finale, especially when I�m copying a full-orchestra score and my document is now over 200 measures.

Yesterday afternoon Herr Doktor Professor Choir Director had called a rehearsal for 1:30. Normally I am all warmed up and raring to go for choir practices but yesterday I just wanted to go home to bed. It was pretty pathetic. I had to leave early anyway because Hubby and I were expected at a concert at the museum on Frontenac Street, except that we didn�t know where it was, never having been there before. I think this museum replaces the mus�e du s�minaire that I remember driving kids to on a field trip when my daughter was in elementary school, and it still has that title in people�s minds, although it is no longer in the s�minaire building, and not even on the same street. Needless to say, we were late, missing the first few minutes of a piece by a friend of ours. It was lovely, what we did hear, scored for wind quintet minus horn. Next on the programme was a flute solo by a local composer who actually studied for two years with Hubby, and then Hubby�s reed trio, before which he was supposed to say a few words en fran�ais. He was totally unprepared and mumbled some totally incoherent stuff in terrible French, but the music spoke for itself and it was all good, as Buddy Boy would say. After a short pause, the wind quintet continued with two more locally-composed pieces for that ensemble, the composer of one actually being present to make a little introductory speech, and a reception of goodies followed.

This concert is being repeated this morning at the U for Vlad�s CEGEP class at 10:30 and I might head over there. I also have a Latin test tomorrow, which I had totally forgotten about, and must study for that as well. To top it off, I noticed that we are out of milk, both laundry baskets are filled to overflowing, the kids� beds haven�t been changed in a very long time, and I just want to go back to bed and read novels.

Thanks for all the comments on the photos. I thought I would include one more that was actually taken a year ago (it�s been cropped, otherwise it would have the whole famn damily in it) when my brother was visiting with my mother and we went out to dinner at a restaurant in Sh�brooke. ladybug-red noticed my long hair, and while it got cut shortly after this photo was taken, it hasn�t been trimmed since and hence is about that length again. I was actually flirting with the good-looking waiter when my brother snapped this one, which accounts for my endearing expression.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>