Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Roaring to life!

Monday, Mar. 17, 2008
8:34 p.m.
I hope everyone is getting blitzed on green beer today, especially as I am not. I did wear a green sweater, though. I think I was the only one I saw dressed in that colour. This is Quebec, remember. Many pur laine francophones are descendants of Irish settlers. Isnt’t that funny? Scottish, too. They have last names like McPherson, Campbell, O’Reilly, etc., and first names like Marc-André and Jean-Sébastien and Jacques. Our premiere is Irish on his mother’s side and his uncle, a now-retired lawyer who used to practise in our town, always had an open house on St. Paddy’s and served green beer. I never attended.

It was cold today. I walked to and from the university since the Volvo was dead in the driveway: -10°C on the way there. I have no idea what it was on the way back. Our second treble recorder player never showed up. She’d set her alarm clock for p.m. instead of a.m. So we practised trios instead. After I taught my unteachable soprano (I have two of them this year) I was able to go home (my unable-to-match-pitches tenor was sick), call CAA and get them to jump start my car. A beautiful young man with diamond studs in his earlobes showed up. He not only got my car roaring to life, he dragged it out of the ice in which it had become affixed and admonished me to allow it to run for at least a half-hour before I stopped it again.

I took the opportunity to give it a good leg stretching, driving into the country, enjoying the sunshine and blue skies, then turned around and headed back, getting stuck behind a slowpoke doing 40 km/h in a 80 km/h zone. Grr! I ended up being five minutes late for Latin.

Patsy left a message on the answering machine. She was wimping out of belly dancing yet again. So, after some considerable thought, I wimped out, too. Right up until it was time to get dressed I thought I would go, then decided against it. I am so depressed with the difficulty of the choreography our class is learning and I feel like I just can’t get it. So instead I got back in the car (which roared to life joyfully) and drove over to the sports centre to pick Little Princess up from karate, only to realize as I was waiting for her that she had to conduct a tour at the observatory tonight. So I returned home.

Hubby phoned earlier after a grueling day of interviews. There are many nice things about the university, including the massive amounts of money they would be paying him. But he mourned the fact that they don’t have indoor tennis courts, and a paucity of outdoor ones. There is one more candidate to interview. We shall see what we shall see.

I think I will renew my gold membership for a few months. I hate the thought of losing my comments. Let’s hope the power-that-is here gets his act together and makes more improvements than just the superficial cosmetic ones we have seen thus far.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>