Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Another day, another dingle.

Tuesday, Jul. 17, 2007
10:19 p.m.
The aspirin has been taken, now we wait. It’s been a while since I had a headache, at least I think it has. Little Princess rushed me this morning as I was going to accompany her to the university and I ended up walking into town and back in my sandals, which would not normally be a bad thing, except that my tootsies are a little tender and now I have sore spots on the balls of my feet, proto-blisters if you will. The good news was that the pharmacy had the hair dye I like on sale, the bad news was that they didn’t have both the colours that I like to blend to get my own special shade. Another brand was also on sale, so I ended up buying similar colours in that line. We’ll see. I really need to do my hair; I have this gray skunk stripe that gleams off the top of my head.

Once I got home, Hubby and I drove to the garage where he picked up the Volvo (which had been there a whole week--I am really not looking forward to getting the bill) and I continued on with the Subaru to Costco, where I again spent too much money but also came away with a slab of wild Pacific salmon (it’s interesting that the word used in French for a hunk of salmon is pavé, which litterally means slab or paving stone), a portion of which Hubby and I had for supper. I made a couple of stops on the way back, one at the Boutique Orientale to buy something for a man with a horse, and then at the framers to pick up my father-in-law’s 80th birthday present (a laminated printout of his family tree, going all the way back to Robert the Bruce) and my son’s framed certificate for his karate black belt. I left a copy of my marriage certificate to be framed. It was a very long process picking the perfect matte and frame for it and the whole time I was thinking about the frozen vegetables melting in my trunk.

Buddy Boy has a night off from camp and is presently playing at being a WW II soldier on the computer upstairs. Hubby picked him up as I was making supper for the two of us (he’d already eaten with the kids). It’s his day off tomorrow as well, but the camp is going to La Ronde, the amusement park in Montreal, and he is damned if he’s not going to go with them for that. So it means we take him back to the camp early in the morning. Hubby has volunteered, I’m not complaining.

We also sang my father-in-law Happy Birthday over the phone this evening and took turns chatting with him. He described how he wrote his octegenarian driving exam this morning and only got one question wrong, something about liability and what the value of damage has to be in order to report a collision. I don’t know that stuff! We’ll be seeing him this weekend for the big party.

So, that sums up my day. Not very exciting. At least no one shot at me. I didn’t have to chase starving street urchins away from my garbage bin. Life is pretty good here. It should always be this dull.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>