Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Does your face hurt you? Well, it’s killing me!

Sunday, Feb. 17, 2008
10:13 p.m.
I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired. Today my face hurts from all the blowing, my ears ache from the pressure, and I feel like I’m constantly on the verge of a sneeze. My son, whom I love to pieces, goes back to school tomorrow after being here a week, during which time we’ve hardly seen him as he’s spent most of it hanging out with his friends, and I’m missing him already. We just spent two hours watching television (two hours more than I’ve spent in months), he, his Dad and I, just so we could bask in the glow of each other’s company. You don’t really realize how great it is to be a parent until your parenting skills are no longer needed. Damn, Gina!

The temperature became quite balmy today and now I hear the pitter-patter of rain on the skylights. According to my widget it’s 2°C. I’m curious as to how this will affect the mountains of snow heaped up outside. Buddy Boy and I went grocery shopping this afternoon and I marveled at those mountains that lined the edges of the parking lot where the ploughs had pushed them. Only in Canada, you say? Pity!

I am determined to resume all my activities tomorrow: recorder ensemble, teaching, Latin, belly dancing. At the moment I don’t feel like any of those things. Maybe tomorrow morning I will. I just wish my face would stop hurting.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>